Training review

Training in household-related services:

Module 1: Environmental protection and waste avoidance

At the end of May, 13 participants completed the first module on environmental protection and waste avoidance of the BIWAQ V training course "Household-related services".

Over four mornings, Ilka Fiebig from the GOA gave vivid presentations on the topics of waste separation and disposal, illegal waste, environmental pollution, waste avoidance and consumer behavior. The participants collected litter on an excursion and at the end were given practical tips on how to avoid waste and save money at the same time.

The course was accompanied by a German course given by Vera Holzwarth from the VHS on Wednesdays in the Unipark.

All participants were fully committed to the project, and each and every one of them took home new knowledge and good intentions at the end.

The program continues in June with module 2 on cleaning and in July with module 3 on nutrition, both on Monday mornings. In both modules, the specialist vocabulary is again reinforced by an accompanying German course run by Vera Holzwarth, which always takes place on Wednesday mornings at Unipark.

04.06.2024

M. Manuwald

Visit to Berlin and presentation of certificates

Schwäbisch Gmünd/Berlin (sv). On Friday, April 26, Klara Geywitz, Federal Minister for Housing, Urban Development and Construction, presented the funding certificate to the representatives of the participating project municipalities at the kick-off event for the fifth funding period of BIWAQ (Bildung, Wirtschaft, Arbeit im Quartier). The city of Schwäbisch Gmünd is one of a total of 47 cities throughout Germany to receive funding from the ESF-Plus project (European Social Fund, with federal and EU funds).

The city of Schwäbisch Gmünd has already participated in the BIWAQ project twice in the past. In December 2023, Schwäbisch Gmünd was awarded the final contract for the BIWAQ V - ZEIT (Zeitenwandel - Einheit - Integration - Teilhabe) project, which will run until 30 June 2026. The aim of BIWAQ V is to increase the employability and sustainable integration of the long-term unemployed and/or people with a migration background into the labour market, primarily in the construction industry, skilled trades, gastronomy and household-related services. What is new in this funding period is that the focus is on women, young people aged 18 and over and people aged 55 and over. At the launch event, Federal Minister Klara Geywitz described BIWAQ V as an opportunity that "opens doors for people for whom many doors were often closed in the past." BIWAQ V is intended to supplement investment-based urban development measures, which create the conditions for spatial participation in the neighbourhood, with projects that promote and stabilize the social and cultural infrastructure.

The implementation of BIWAQ V in Schwäbisch Gmünd contributes to social cohesion, the mixing of milieus and the reduction of labor shortages in the named sectors through targeted qualification and the supply of workers. The project objectives and content can be divided into the two fields of action "Sustainable integration into employment" and "Strengthening the local economy". The first field of action is primarily implemented in Oststadt and Hardt, while the second field of action involves adding the Altstadt district to the two neighborhoods. The city's economic development department is in charge of the project together with the Office for Family and Social Affairs. Cooperation partners are, among others, the Technische Akademie e.V., the Gmünder Volkshochschule e.V. and the a.l.s.o e.V.

"Thanks to the interdisciplinary composition of our team, we have the opportunity to offer a variety of (further) qualifications and thus improve the matching between employees and employers in times of a shortage of skilled workers through our proximity to the local economy," said Inga Adam, BIWAQ V project manager at the Schwäbisch Gmünd city administration's business development department. Information about the project and current (further) training courses can be found at https://biwaq-gd.de/.

The "ZEIT" project is funded as part of the "BIWAQ V" program by the Federal Ministry of Housing, Urban Development and Construction and the European Union via the European Social Fund Plus (ESF Plus).

BIWAQ V kick-off event
Klara Geywitz, Federal Minister of Housing, Urban Development and Construction on April 26, 2024 at the certificate presentation on the occasion of the BIWAQ V kick-off event at Refugio in Berlin Neukölln. Photo: BMWSB | Stefanie Loos

International Women's Day campaign

On Sunday, March 10a special event was held at the Alevi Cultural Center in Gmünder Oststadt to mark International Women's Day. From 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., women met for breakfast, which was lovingly prepared by the men of the center. under the motto "Flower Power" was prepared.

The event was organized in cooperation between the BIWAQ V project "ZEIT" (Zeitenwandel - Einheit - Integration - Teilhabe; urban economic development), the Coordination for Municipal Development Policy (Office for Sustainable Development, Climate Protection and Citizen Participation) and the Alevi Cultural Centre.

The highlight of the day was the Distribution of fair trade rosesaccompanied by an informative Lecture on the topics of women at work and sustainable development goals (SDGs) of the United Nations. The musical performances by the in-house choir and music groups also created a festive atmosphere.

A big thank you to all participants and supporters who made this day a success.

Intercultural women's breakfast

In a relaxed atmosphere, we invite you to every 3rd Thursday from 9.30-11.00 The event is an opportunity for women to get to know each other and exchange ideas over healthy international dishes that they have prepared or brought with them.

In addition to a short round of introductions, there are always changing, current topics, seasonally adapted information on medicinal herbs and an exchange about your own topics and experiences. 

Our project partners: TA, VHS and a.l.s.o

The realization of the goals defined within the framework of BIWAQ V is based on the cooperation of the job coaches from a.l.s.o. and TA as well as the Gmünd Adult Education Center (VHS)

This partnership stands for a comprehensive support network that is individually tailored to the needs of the participants. The focus is on personal advice and tailored training opportunities that not only impart knowledge and skills, but also open up new perspectives in the professional environment.

The three project partners who are making a significant contribution to the success of the project are presented in more detail below.

Technical Academy Schwäbisch Gmünd (TA):

The Technische Akademie für berufliche Bildung Schwäbisch Gmünd e.V. (TA) was founded as a non-profit association on March 23, 1987. Since then, we have been organizing further and advanced training courses, primarily in the industrial-technical and commercial fields, and initiating specialist events of all kinds in order to provide the economy with practical vocational training. We want to make a contribution to technology transfer for the benefit of the economy.

In addition, the association offers demand-oriented retraining measures. We are also committed to promoting education and training. In particular, we aim to awaken an understanding of technology in children and young people at an early age, promote independent research, action and the ability and willingness to train and study technical professions, expand social skills and enable identification with the region. We work closely with vocational training providers, universities and other educational institutions.

Link to the homepage: https://www.technische-akademie.de/

Schwäbisch Gmünder Volkshochschule e. V. (VHS):

The Schwäbisch Gmünd VHS was founded in 1946 and has also been active in the field of vocational training for over 35 years. Since 2022, the VHS has been a basic education center (GBZ). The GBZ aims to reach adults and people with basic education needs in reading and writing, numeracy and other topics. The VHS also offers courses in German and foreign languages, health and creative courses, for example. 

Link to the homepage: www.gmuender-vhs.de

a.l.s.o e.V.:

The social enterprise has been offering people in Schwäbisch Gmünd and the Ostwürttemberg region new prospects through social, cultural and vocational education, integration and support for job and training seekers for 40 years.

Link to the homepage: https://alsogmuend.de/

Schulungsrückblick

Schulung Haushaltsnahe Dienstleistungen:

Modul 1: Thema Umweltschutz und Müllvermeidung

Ende Mai schlossen 13 Teilnehmer*innen das erste Modul zum Thema Umweltschutz und Müllvermeidung der BIWAQ V Schulung „haushaltsnahe Dienstleistungen“ ab.

Ilka Fiebig von der GOA referierte an vier Vormittagen anschaulich über die Themen Abfalltrennung und Entsorgung, illegaler Müll, Umweltbelastungen, Müllvermeidung und Konsumverhalten. Auf einer Exkursion sammelten die Teilnehmer*innen wilden Müll und am Schluss gab es praktische Tipps um Müll zu vermeiden und gleichzeitig Geld zu sparen.

Sprachlich begleitet wurde der Kurs durch einen Deutschkurs, den Vera Holzwarth von der VHS mittwochs im Unipark gab.

Alle Teilnehmenden waren voll und ganz bei der Sache, jede und jeder für sich nahm am Ende neue Kenntnisse und gute Vorsätze mit nach Hause.

Weiter geht es jetzt im Juni mit Modul 2 zum Thema Reinigung und im Juli mit Modul 3 zum Thema Ernährung, jeweils am Montagvormittag. Der Fachwortschatz wird bei beiden Modulen wieder durch einen begleitenden Deutschkurs von Vera Holzwarth, der immer am Mittwochvormittag im Unipark stattfindet, vertieft.

04.06.2024

M. Manuwald

Besuch in Berlin und Urkundenübergabe

Schwäbisch Gmünd/Berlin (sv). Am Freitag, 26. April, überreichte Klara Geywitz, Bundesministerin für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen, bei der Auftaktveranstaltung zur fünften Förderperiode von BIWAQ (Bildung, Wirtschaft, Arbeit im Quartier) die Förderurkunde an die Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der teilnehmenden Projektkommunen. Die Stadt Schwäbisch Gmünd ist dabei eine von insgesamt 47 Städten in ganz Deutschland, die über das ESF-Plus-Projekt (Europäischer Sozialfonds, mit Bundes- und EU-Mitteln) gefördert wird.

Bereits zwei Mal hatte die Stadt Schwäbisch Gmünd in der Vergangenheit am BIWAQ-Projekt teilgenommen. Im Dezember 2023 erhielt Schwäbisch Gmünd den finalen Zuschlag für das Projekt BIWAQ V – ZEIT (Zeitenwandel – Einheit – Integration – Teilhabe) mit einer Laufzeit bis 30. Juni 2026. Das Ziel von BIWAQ V ist die Erhöhung der Beschäftigungsfähigkeit und die nachhaltige Integration von Langzeitarbeitslosen und/oder Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund in den Arbeitsmarkt, vorrangig in das Baugewerbe, Handwerk, die Gastronomie und haushaltsnahe Dienstleistungen. Neu ist in dieser Förderperiode, dass der Fokus auf Frauen, junge Menschen ab 18 Jahren und Menschen ab 55 Jahren liegt. Bundesministerin Klara Geywitz beschrieb bei der Auftaktveranstaltung BIWAQ V als eine Möglichkeit, die „Türen für Menschen öffnet, für die in der Vergangenheit viele Türen oft verschlossen waren.“ Mit BIWAQ V sollen investive städtebauliche Maßnahmen, die die Voraussetzung für die räumliche Teilhabe im Quartier schaffen, um Projekte, die die soziale und kulturelle Infrastruktur fördern und stabilisieren, ergänzt werden.

Die Umsetzung von BIWAQ V trägt in Schwäbisch Gmünd zum sozialen Zusammenhalt, zur Milieudurchmischung sowie zur Minderung des Arbeitskräftemangels in den benannten Branchen durch zielgerichtete Qualifikation und Zuführung von Arbeitskräften bei. Die Projektziele und -inhalte lassen sich dabei in die beiden Handlungsfelder „Nachhaltige Integration in Beschäftigung“ und „Stärkung der lokalen Ökonomie“ gliedern. Das erste Handlungsfeld wird vorrangig in der Oststadt und auf dem Hardt umgesetzt, beim zweiten Handlungsfeld werden die beiden Quartiere um das Stadtviertel Altstadt ergänzt. Die städtische Wirtschaftsförderung zeichnet sich federführend im Projekt zusammen mit dem Amt für Familie und Soziales. Kooperationspartner sind, neben weiteren, vor allem die Technische Akademie e.V., die Gmünder Volkshochschule e.V. und die a.l.s.o e.V.

„Durch die interdisziplinäre Zusammensetzung unseres Teams haben wir die Möglichkeit eine Vielfalt an (Weiter-)Qualifizierungen anzubieten und so durch unsere Nähe zur lokalen Wirtschaft das Matching zwischen Arbeitnehmern und Arbeitgebern in Zeiten des Fachkräftemangels zu verbessern“, sagte Inga Adam, Projektleiterin von BIWAQ V in der Wirtschaftsförderung der Stadtverwaltung Schwäbisch Gmünd. Informationen rund um das Projekt sowie aktuelle (Weiterbildungs-)Kurse sind abrufbar unter https://biwaq-gd.de/.

Das Projekt „ZEIT“ wird im Rahmen des Programms „BIWAQ V“ durch das Bundesministerium für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen und die Europäische Union über den Europäischen Sozialfonds Plus (ESF Plus) gefördert.

Auftaktveranstaltung BIWAQ V
Klara Geywitz, Bundesministerin für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen am 26. April 2024 bei der Urkundenübergabe anlässlich der Auftaktveranstaltung zu BIWAQ V im Refugio in Berlin Neukölln. Foto: BMWSB | Stefanie Loos

Aktion zum Weltfrauentag

Am Sonntag, dem 10. März, fand im Alevitischen Kulturzentrum in der Gmünder Oststadt eine besondere Veranstaltung anlässlich des Weltfrauentages statt. Von 10:00 bis 12:30 Uhr trafen sich Frauen zum gemeinsamen Frühstück, das von den Männern des Zentrums liebevoll unter dem Motto „Flower Power“ zubereitet wurde.

Die Veranstaltung wurde in Kooperation zwischen dem BIWAQ V-Projekt „ZEIT“ (Zeitenwandel – Einheit – Integration – Teilhabe; städtische Wirtschaftsförderung), der Koordination für kommunale Entwicklungspolitik (Amt für nachhaltige Entwicklung, Klimaschutz und Bürgerbeteiligung) und dem Alevitischen Kulturzentrum e.V. organisiert.

Das Highlight des Tages war die Verteilung fair gehandelter Rosen, begleitet von einem informativen Vortrag zu den Themen Frauen im Beruf und nachhaltige Entwicklungsziele (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen. Die musikalischen Darbietungen des hauseigenen Chores und der Musikgruppen sorgten zudem für eine festliche Stimmung.

Ein großer Dank gilt allen Teilnehmenden und Unterstützern, die diesen Tag zu einem Erfolg gemacht haben.

Interkulturelles Frauenfrühstück

In lockerem Rahmen laden wir bei an jedem 3. Donnerstag von 9.30-11.00 Uhr bei gemeinsam vorbereiteten oder mitgebrachten internationalen, gesunden Speisen, zu Kennenlernen und Austausch unter Frauen ein.

Neben einer kleinen Vorstellungsrunde gibt es jeweils wechselnde, aktuelle Themen, jahreszeitlich angepasste Informationen zu Heilkräutern und einen Austausch über eigene Themen und Erfahrungen. 

Unsere Projektpartner: TA, VHS und a.l.s.o

Die Realisierung der im Rahmen von BIWAQ V festgelegten Ziele stützt sich auf die Kooperation der Jobcoaches von a.l.s.o. und TA sowie der Gmünder Volkshochschule (VHS)

Diese Partnerschaft steht für ein umfassendes Unterstützungsnetzwerk, das individuell auf die Bedürfnisse der Teilnehmenden zugeschnitten ist. Im Mittelpunkt stehen persönliche Beratung und maßgeschneiderte Qualifizierungsangebote, die nicht nur Wissen und Fähigkeiten vermitteln, sondern auch neue Perspektiven im beruflichen Umfeld eröffnen.

Im Folgenden sollen die drei Projektpartner, die maßgeblich zum Gelingen des Vorhabens beitragen, näher vorgestellt werden.

Technische Akademie Schwäbisch Gmünd (TA):

Am 23. März 1987 wurde die Technische Akademie für berufliche Bildung Schwäbisch Gmünd e.V. (TA) als gemeinnütziger Verein gegründet. Seitdem organisieren wir Fort- und Weiterbildungskurse vor allem im gewerblich-technischen und kaufmännischen Bereich und initiieren Fachveranstaltungen aller Art, um der Wirtschaft ein praxisgerechtes berufliches Bildungsangebot zu machen. Wir wollen einen Beitrag zum Technologietransfer zu Gunsten der Wirtschaft leisten.

Darüber hinaus bietet der Verein nachfrageorientiert Umschulungsmaßnahmen an. Im Weiteren verpflichten wir uns der Förderung von Bildung und Ausbildung. Insbesondere soll bei Kindern und Jugendlichen frühzeitig das Verständnis für Technik geweckt, eigenständiges Forschen, Handeln und die Fähigkeit sowie die Bereitschaft zu Ausbildung und Studium von technischen Berufen gefördert, soziale Kompetenzen erweitert und die Identifikation mit der Region ermöglicht werden. Wir arbeiten mit den Trägern der beruflichen Bildung, sowie mit den Hochschulen und sonstigen Bildungseinrichtungen eng zusammen.

Link zur Homepage: https://www.technische-akademie.de/

Schwäbisch Gmünder Volkshochschule e. V. (VHS):

Die Schwäbisch Gmünder VHS wurde 1946 gegründet und ist seit über 35 Jahren auch im Bereich der beruflichen Bildung tätig. Seit 2022 ist die VHS ein Grundbildungszentrum (GBZ). Im GBZ sollen Erwachsene und Personen mit Grundbildungsbedarf im Lesen und Schreiben, in Rechenfähigkeit und bei anderen Themen erreicht werden. Außerdem bietet die VHS z.B. Kurse für Deutsch und Fremdsprachen, Gesundheits- und Kreativkurse an. 

Link zur Homepage: www.gmuender-vhs.de

a.l.s.o e.V.:

Das Sozialunternehmen bietet seit 40 Jahren Menschen in Schwäbisch Gmünd und der Region Ostwürttemberg neue Perspektiven durch soziale, kulturelle und berufsbezogene Bildung, Integration und Förderung von Arbeits- und Ausbildungssuchenden.

Link zur Homepage: https://alsogmuend.de/